Monday, October 18, 2021

NATIONAL LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP NOTEBOOK: Summer of New Names for a Brewers Season

Must read

The Milwaukee Brewers won their third NL Central division title in six years on Thursday night with a 6-2 victory over the New York Mets.

The Brewers finished the regular season with an 87-75 record to claim the NL Central crown. They had 97 wins in 2015 and 108 in 2013.

It was the seventh time Milwaukee has reached the playoffs, but their first since 2015.

Both the Mets and San Francisco Giants remained alive until the final game of the season, so Milwaukee can look forward to opening the National League Division Series at home next week.

Milwaukee’s Bryan Shaw was recognized by the organization as a player for his first-place finish in the NL Cy Young Award voting as the MVP of the Brewers’ five-game win streak to close out the regular season.

Braun also won a bronze plate for winning the individual awards the Brewers had. He also collected the Jim Brewer Award for winning the most games during the regular season.

Former first-round draft pick Jett Bandy collected his first career RBI with a base hit in the ninth. He finished the season with 48 RBIs, tied for sixth in the National League.

The Brewers are the ninth team to clinch the NL Central with three games to go this season, and they’re the eighth to do it in six years.

More articles

Latest article